Find out more

A way of life, a promise to visitors, a slogan. ARTISANS AT WORK is a way of expressing what the Économusée Network Society artisan members represent.

Members actively help to :

  • Enhance intangible heritage as a contribution to cultural diversity.
  • Reap benefits from experiential cultural tourism.
  • Shine a spotlight on traditional trades that are still practiced today, thereby contributing to defining local and national identity.
  • Showcase local products (place of creation and distribution) with a view to promotion.
  • Promote entrepreneurship and inspire young people to start businesses of their own.
  • Maintain the vitality of communities that they are part of.
  • Support community stability by directly and indirectly generating jobs.
  • Encourage local purchasing and procurement from local providers.
  • Increase local investment by regularly upgrading their infrastructure and equipment.

Our Purpose

 

WE BELIVE IN THE PRESERVATION OF TRADITIONAL KNOWLEDGE TO ENHANCE CULTURAL DIVERSITY.

We believe that through their trades, artisans perpetuate history, tradition and often even a part of the cultural identity of a village, region or country. Through their ability to preserve an intangible heritage, artisans are vital contributors to promoting and safeguarding identitarian forms of knowledge that contribute to cultural outreach in a globalized world.

The loss of traditional know-how undermines a cultural heritage.

 

WE BELIEVE IN PATTERN OF CONSUMPTION WITH A HUMAN DIMENSION

Artisans everywhere are vulnerable, even threatened by large-scale industrial production. Artisans offer production that is local, close at hand and of unique quality to meet the needs of consumers fully aware of the impacts of their choices. These consumers seek an identity, which explains why they are prepared to pay more.

The artisans show innovation and initiative in their contemporary production and it is important to heighten the public’s awareness of the interest in diversifying consumer choices.

 

WE BELIEVE THAT LOCAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP BENEFITS COMMUNITIES

Artisans are real generators of wealth who contribute to the vitality of the communities where they are located. They are dynamic regional contributors because they create direct and indirect jobs, buy locally and invest regularly in their infrastructures and equipment. Artisans represent a veritable hotbed of entrepreneurs. Inspiring role models of entrepreneurship in Quebec, Canada and elsewhere all began as artisans.

For the ESN, nurturing the passion of its members allows the network to accompany and direct the artisans along the difficult path to entrepreneurship and contributes to the breakthrough of potentially great economic success stories.

 

WE BELIEVE THAT CULTURAL TOURISM IS THE BEST WAY TO SHOWCASE ARTISANS

Developing a differential heritage, offering a different pattern of consumption and inspiring entrepreneurship take place through direct contact between the population and the artisans. The ÉCONOMUSÉE®concept is part of a dynamic agrotourism and experiential cultural tourism approach that allows people to:

  • Meet artisan entrepreneurs who welcome visitors to premises where artistic creation and production take place
  • Get to know, exchange and share with artisans the craft they exercise with passion
  • Discover production models based on tradition and products carefully crafted on the premises
  • Admire excellence, savour for the pleasure of the senses and live moments of emotion
  • Participate in an interactive and authentic cultural experience
  • Stand out from the competition

SERVING ARTISANS

 

For over 25 years, the ENS has supported business owning artisans that stand out from the crowd. It supports them by offering its expertise in cultural heritage enhancement. It assists its members in developing high quality distinctive tourist products.

Through an integrated support system focusing on development, competitiveness and marketing, the ENS deploys a range of activities that allow artisans to reap the many benefits of the ÉCONOMUSÉE® concept from a cultural, tourist, and economic perspective.

The ENS coordinates financing for its members to transform workshops into ÉCONOMUSÉE®. The ENS also promotes experiential tourism and outreach activities that ensure the sustainable economic development of artisans pursuing an entrepreneurial path.

Becoming an Artisan at work – Économusée

SOME HISTORICAL BACKGROUND

EVOLUTION OVER TIME

 

Founded in 1992, after having been active  in Québec (Canada) for over 25 years, the ÉCONOMUSÉE® Network Society (ENS) became an international non-profit company, working together with numerous partners sharing  the same goals − the continuation of traditional trades and know-how in the field of high-quality crafts and the agri-food sector. The organization’s head office is in Québec. The ENS is a key actor in matters relating to the enhancement of traditional know-how. It oversees the development and sustainability of Québec économusées and draws on their outreach to support and coordinate économusée development around the world.

In the early 2000’s, the ENS introduced its concept in the Atlantic provinces and took part in the creation of a sister organization, the Atlantic ÉCONOMUSÉE® Network.

Since its establishment as an international company in 2008, the ENS has been proud to export the Canadian ÉCONOMUSÉE® concept abroad and to direct an international network of members that update and share their know-how as artisans and entrepreneurs, for the benefit of their community. Since 2008, the ENS’s North European partners implanted the concept in Greenland, the Faroe Islands, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.

In 2012, the ENS and the British Columbia Economic Development Association (BCEDA) signed an initial memorandum of understanding for the concept’s implementation in the province. BCEDA’s work and the success achieved have served as models and inspired the ENS, which subsequently also signed memorandums of understanding with the Conseil économique et coopératif de la Saskatchewan (CÉCS) in 2014 and the Conseil de développement économique de l’Alberta (CDÉA) in 2016.

In July 2018, the network expanded to the Caribbean, the first économusée in the region being set up in Haiti thanks to its partnership with CECI Uniterra.

Économusée founder

 

 

Cyril Simard and Monique Gauthier 

 

WHERE DOES THE WORD COME FROM?

From an etymological point of view, the word points to the two concerns of our initiatives. First of all, “econo” highlights the importance of the profitability and efficiency of an enterprise, and “museology” provides the whole with the cultural and pedagogical dimensions sought for their originality and uniqueness.

 

CYRIL SIMARD

There is one man at the origin of the concept and even the word, ÉCONOMUSÉE: the architect, designer and ethnologist Dr. Cyril Simard. Concerned about the threat looming over traditional trades slowly being replaced by industrial mass production, worried about the uncertain future reserved for artisans and their contribution to the cultural identity of their country, and wanting to ensure continuity in their work and safeguard their art, Cyril Simard decided to complete a Ph.D. in ethnology at Université Laval.

This was in 1986. Three years later, he published a version of his thesis for the general public, entitling it “Economuseology: How to make a cultural enterprise profitable” [our translation]. In it, the author described his vision of the ÉCONOMUSÉE® based on six components.The first ÉCONOMUSÉE® opened in 1988 at the Papeterie Saint-Gilles in Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive (Charlevoix) and would serve as a laboratory to test the new theory. The ÉCONOMUSÉE® Network Society

« HERITAGE THAT EARNS ITS KEEP »

– Cyril Simard, ÉCONOMUSÉE® founder

En savoir plus

Un mode de vie, une promesse pour les visiteurs, un slogan. ARTISANS À L’OEUVRE est la façon d’exprimer ce que représente les artisans membres de la Société du réseau ÉÉCONOMUSÉE.

Les membres contribuent activement à :

  • Valoriser le patrimoine immatériel comme contribution à la diversité culturelle ;
  • Tirer profit du tourisme culturel expérientiel ;
  • Mettre en lumière des métiers qui, encore pratiqués aujourd’hui, contribuent à forger une identité locale et nationale ;
  • Servir de vitrine (lieu de création et de diffusion) pour la mise en valeur des produits locaux ;
  • Promouvoir l’entrepreneuriat et inspirer les jeunes à créer leur propre entreprise ;
  • Maintenir la vitalité des communautés dans lesquelles ils sont situés ;
  • Favoriser la dynamique de l’occupation du territoire en générant des emplois directs et indirects ;
  • Encourager l’achat local en s’approvisionnant auprès de leurs fournisseurs locaux ;
  • Augmenter l’investissement local en renouvelant régulièrement leurs infrastructures et leurs équipements.

LA RAISON D’ÊTRE DE LA SRÉ

 

LES MEMBRES DU RÉSEAU CROIENT EN LA PERPÉTUATION DU SAVOIR-FAIRE TRADITIONNEL AU BÉNÉFICE DE LA DIVERSITÉ CULTURELLE.

Les artisans portent par leurs métiers, l’histoire, les traditions et souvent une partie de l’identité culturelle d’un village, d’une région voire d’un pays. L’artisan est, par sa capacité à préserver un patrimoine immatériel, un atout indispensable à la sauvegarde et à la promotion d’un savoir-faire identitaire contribuant ainsi au rayonnement des cultures dans un monde globalisé.

Préserver un savoir-faire traditionnel, c’est consolider un patrimoine culturel.

 

 

LES MEMBRES DU RÉSEAU CROIENT EN UN MODE DE CONSOMMATION À DIMENSION HUMAINE.

Les artisans offrent une production locale, de proximité, de qualité unique qui répond aux besoins des consommateurs avertis dans leurs choix de consommation. Ces derniers recherchent des produits locaux de qualité.  Les membres du réseau offrent une réponse à la production industrielle à grande échelle.

Diversifier ses choix de consommation, c’est encourager les artisans à faire preuve d’innovation dans leurs productions contemporaines.

 

LES MEMBRES DU RÉSEAU CROIENT EN UN ENTREPRENEURIAT LOCAL AU BÉNÉFICE DES COLLECTIVITÉS.

Les artisans sont de véritables créateurs de richesse en contribuant à la vitalité des communautés dans lesquelles ils sont situés. Ils contribuent à la dynamique de l’occupation du territoire en générant des emplois directs et indirects, en s’approvisionnant localement et en investissant régulièrement dans leurs infrastructures et leurs équipements. Les artisans représentent une véritable pépinière d’entrepreneurs. D’ailleurs, les modèles inspirants d’entrepreneurs au Québec, au Canada et ailleurs ont tous été au départ des artisans.

Soutenir les artisans, c’est contribuer à l’éveil de grands succès économiques en devenir.

LES MEMBRES DU RÉSEAU CROIENT EN UN TOURISME CULTUREL COMME MEILLEUR MOYEN DE MISE EN VALEUR DES ARTISANS.

La mise en valeur d’un patrimoine identitaire, l’offre d’une option de consommation et le pouvoir d’inspirer l’entrepreneuriat passent par le contact direct entre la population et les artisans. Le concept ÉCONOMUSÉE s’inscrit dans une dynamique d’agrotourisme et de tourisme culturel expérientiel.

Partir à la rencontre d’un artisan, c’est participer à une expérience culturelle authentique.

AU SERVICE DES ARTISANS

 

Depuis plus de 25 ans, la SRÉ soutient les artisans propriétaires d’entreprises qui se démarquent. Elle met au service de ces artisans sa grande expertise dans la mise en valeur du patrimoine culturel.  Elle accompagne ses membres dans le développement de produits touristiques distinctifs de très haute qualité.

Par son système d’accompagnement intégré pour le développement, l’appui à la compétitivité et la mise en marché, la Société du réseau ÉCONOMUSÉE (SRÉ) déploie une variété d’activités permettant aux artisans entrepreneurs de retirer de nombreux bénéfices du concept ÉCONOMUSÉE sur les plans culturel, touristique et économique.

La SRÉ orchestre, au bénéfice de ses membres, le financement pour la transformation d’ateliers en ÉCONOMUSÉE et appuie l’offre touristique expérientielle et les activités de rayonnement qui assurent le développement économique de ses artisans dans leur parcours entrepreneurial.

Devenir un Artisan à l’oeuvre – Économusée

UN PEU D’HISTOIRE

UNE ÉVOLUTION AU FIL DES ANNÉES

 

Fondée en 1992 et œuvrant depuis plus de 25 ans au Québec (Canada), la Société du réseau ÉCONOMUSÉE (SRÉ) est devenue une société internationale à but non lucratif qui travaille de concert avec de nombreux partenaires partageant les mêmes objectifs, soit la perpétuation des métiers et des savoir-faire traditionnels dans les domaines des métiers d’art et de l’agroalimentaire. Le siège social de l’organisation est à Québec.  La SRÉ est un intervenant de premier plan quant aux enjeux de mise en valeur des savoir-faire traditionnels. Elle veille au développement et à la pérennité des économusées au Québec et s’appuie sur leur rayonnement pour soutenir et coordonner le développement d’économusées à travers le monde.

C’est au début des années 2000 que la SRÉ implante son concept dans les provinces atlantiques et participe à la création d’une organisation sœur, le Réseau ÉCONOMUSÉE de l’Atlantique.

Devenue une société internationale depuis 2008, la SRÉ exporte avec fierté le concept canadien ÉCONOMUSÉE et dirige un réseau international de membres qui actualisent et transmettent leurs savoir-faire à titre d’artisans et d’entrepreneurs, au bénéfice de leur communauté. Depuis 2008, les partenaires nord-européens de la SRÉ ont implanté le concept au Groenland, aux Îles Faroé, en Irlande, en Irlande du Nord, en Islande, en Norvège et en Suède.

En 2012, la SRÉ et la Société de développement économique de la Colombie-Britannique (SDECB) signent un premier protocole d’entente afin d’implanter le concept dans cette province. Le travail de la SDECB et le succès obtenu ont servi de modèle et d’inspiration à la SRÉ, qui a pu conclure deux protocoles d’entente avec le Conseil économique et coopératif de la Saskatchewan (CÉCS) en 2014, et le Conseil de développement économique de l’Alberta (CDÉA) en 2016.

En juillet 2018, le réseau prend de l’expansion dans les Caraïbes avec l’ouverture du premier économusée à Haïti grâce à son partenariat avec le CECI Uniterra.

LE FONDATEUR DES ÉCONOMUSÉE

 

 

Cyril Simard et Monique Gauthier 

 

D’OÙ VIENT LE MOT ÉCONOMUSÉE ?

Étymologiquement, le mot comporte les deux préoccupations de nos interventions.
D’abord, « économie » pour souligner l’importance de la rentabilité et du rendement de l’entreprise, et ensuite, « muséologie » pour conférer à l’ensemble les dimensions culturelles et pédagogiques recherchées qui apposent leur originalité et leur spécificité.

 

CYRIL SIMARD

À l’origine du concept et du mot même ÉCONOMUSÉE, il y a un homme, Cyril Simard, architecte, designer et ethnologue. Préoccupé par la menace pesant sur tous les métiers traditionnels peu à peu remplacés par la production industrielle de masse, soucieux du sort incertain des artisans et de leur contribution à l’identité culturelle de leur pays et voulant assurer la continuité de leur œuvre et la sauvegarde de leur art, Cyril Simard décide de réaliser une thèse de doctorat en ethnologie à l’Université Laval.

C’était en 1986. Trois ans plus tard, il publie une version vulgarisée de sa thèse : Économuséologie : Comment rentabiliser une entreprise culturelle. Il y décrit sa vision de l’ÉCONOMUSÉE qu’il articule autour de ses six composantes. Le premier ÉCONOMUSÉE est ouvert en 1988 dans La Papeterie Saint-Gilles à Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive (Charlevoix) et servira de laboratoire pour expérimenter cette nouvelle théorie. En 1992, la Société du réseau ÉCONOMUSÉE est fondée.

LE PATRIMOINE QUI GAGNE SA VIE

– Cyril Simard, fondateur des ÉCONOMUSÉES